LOCAL UPDATES Selected coverage from linked sources. Check each record’s source date.
The Bay MainReal local updates.
Benicia
← Back to around town

Benicia / Transit

UnknownAs reported Aug 25, 2026

Benicia approved Lyft fare and monthly ride-limit changes

See the dated update below for the reported milestone and timing.

Source: The Benicia Bridge, Say goodbye to $5 Lyft rides in Benicia. The price is going up · checked Oct 7, 2026 · Coverage updated Oct 7, 2026

Location not yet established

Benicia’s council approved changes on August 18, 2026, raising the general subsidized Lyft fare from $5 to $7 and reducing the monthly discounted-ride limit from 60 to 20, with approved hardship exceptions and the existing $3/$4 eligibility fares retained. Monica Vaughan reported the decision in The Benicia Bridge on August 25; a September 18 Solano Transportation Authority memo corroborates it. The start date remains unconfirmed. Solano Mobility’s public program page still listed the earlier $5 fare when checked October 7, so the council decision should not be read as a verified current app price or ride allowance. Eligibility fares and the ride limit are separate; retained $3/$4 fares do not exempt those riders from the cap.

Share this story

Select story link

How we know (3 sources)

Dated source evidence; the project may have changed since then. An approval does not establish construction or an opening.

Summary

Monica Vaughan reported August 25 that Benicia’s council approved August 18 changes from $5 to $7 for the general program and from 60 to 20 discounted rides per month, retaining $3/$4 eligibility fares and providing for hardship requests. The original report had no implementation date.

Say goodbye to $5 Lyft rides in Benicia. The price is going up

The Benicia Bridge · Reported by Monica Vaughan; Opening fare/ride-limit discussion; eligibility and hardship section; implementation-date sentence

Evidence dated: Aug 25, 2026 · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.

Summary

A September 18, 2026, STA staff memo corroborates the August 18 city decision: general $5-to-$7 fare change, 60-to-20 monthly ride cap unless a hardship waiver is submitted and approved, and retained $3/$4 eligibility rates. Recommendation language for subsequent STA action is not a completed vote or effective date.

Solano County Intercity Transit Consortium packet, September 29, 2026

Solano Transportation Authority · Memo authors: Ron Grassi and Lorene Garrett; Item 7.A memo, printed page 9: Discussion; Recommendation for each Benicia Lyft category

Evidence dated: Sep 18, 2026 · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.

Summary

On October 7, 2026, Solano Mobility’s public Benicia program page displayed a $5 general-program fare and $3/$4 eligibility fares. The undated page may be stale and does not establish actual app implementation or reversal of the city decision.

Benicia Lyft Programs

Solano Mobility / Solano Transportation Authority · 5Benicia and Benicia $4 and $3 sections

Evidence dated: Date not stated · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.

Benicia / Transit

UnknownAs reported Aug 25, 2026

Benicia approved Lyft fare and monthly ride-limit changes

See the dated update below for the reported milestone and timing.

Source: The Benicia Bridge, Say goodbye to $5 Lyft rides in Benicia. The price is going up · checked Oct 7, 2026 · Coverage updated Oct 7, 2026

Location not yet established

Benicia’s council approved changes on August 18, 2026, raising the general subsidized Lyft fare from $5 to $7 and reducing the monthly discounted-ride limit from 60 to 20, with approved hardship exceptions and the existing $3/$4 eligibility fares retained. Monica Vaughan reported the decision in The Benicia Bridge on August 25; a September 18 Solano Transportation Authority memo corroborates it. The start date remains unconfirmed. Solano Mobility’s public program page still listed the earlier $5 fare when checked October 7, so the council decision should not be read as a verified current app price or ride allowance. Eligibility fares and the ride limit are separate; retained $3/$4 fares do not exempt those riders from the cap.

Share this story

Select story link

How we know (3 sources)

Dated source evidence; the project may have changed since then. An approval does not establish construction or an opening.

Summary

Monica Vaughan reported August 25 that Benicia’s council approved August 18 changes from $5 to $7 for the general program and from 60 to 20 discounted rides per month, retaining $3/$4 eligibility fares and providing for hardship requests. The original report had no implementation date.

Say goodbye to $5 Lyft rides in Benicia. The price is going up

The Benicia Bridge · Reported by Monica Vaughan; Opening fare/ride-limit discussion; eligibility and hardship section; implementation-date sentence

Evidence dated: Aug 25, 2026 · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.

Summary

A September 18, 2026, STA staff memo corroborates the August 18 city decision: general $5-to-$7 fare change, 60-to-20 monthly ride cap unless a hardship waiver is submitted and approved, and retained $3/$4 eligibility rates. Recommendation language for subsequent STA action is not a completed vote or effective date.

Solano County Intercity Transit Consortium packet, September 29, 2026

Solano Transportation Authority · Memo authors: Ron Grassi and Lorene Garrett; Item 7.A memo, printed page 9: Discussion; Recommendation for each Benicia Lyft category

Evidence dated: Sep 18, 2026 · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.

Summary

On October 7, 2026, Solano Mobility’s public Benicia program page displayed a $5 general-program fare and $3/$4 eligibility fares. The undated page may be stale and does not establish actual app implementation or reversal of the city decision.

Benicia Lyft Programs

Solano Mobility / Solano Transportation Authority · 5Benicia and Benicia $4 and $3 sections

Evidence dated: Date not stated · Source checked: Oct 7, 2026

Owner-authorized agent review of the precise attributed claim and its dated scope; no inferred approval, implementation, completion or opening date.